The Governing Council of Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja, has demoted Mr. John Edoka, a Chief Lecturer in the Department of Public Administration.

He was demoted to the rank of Principal Lecturer to serve as a deterrent to others for his involvement in acts of gross misconduct bordering on dishonesty, student victimisation and disobedience to a lawful order.

The Polytechnic Head, Public Relations and Protocol Unit, Mrs Uredo Omale, who disclosed this in a statement sent to DAILY POST on Friday noted that this was part of the decisions made at the 64th Regular Meeting of the Governing Council led by the chairman, Professor Isa Yakubu held at Polytechnic’s Council Chamber.

Omale said the council terminated the appointment of Mr. Dominic O. Idakwo, a Lecturer II from the Department of Science and Laboratory Technology (SLT).

According to her, the sacked lecturer absconded from duty since 2018 after he was granted study leave with pay.

The Council, according to the polytechnic mouthpiece, further resolved that, one Mr. Oguntunyi Oluwaseun, a Computer Technician in the Information Technology and Resource Centre (ITRC) be made to pay for the six missing laptops under his care.

“Council also resolved that Mr. Olufemi Anthony Ajibodun of the Department of Science Laboratory Technology, be made to refund the sum of Two Million, Six hundred and nineteen thousand, nine hundred and thirty-six naira, fifteen kobo only (N2,619,936,15) he collected as part of TETFUND scholarship grant for “upkeep” at the University of Central Lancashire, United Kingdom in 2012 which he did not attend,” she added.

Meanwhile, the Polytechnic management has approved the promotion of Five (5) Principal Lecturers to the rank of Chief Lecturers.

Continuing, Omale said, “Having considered the recommendations from the Appointments, Promotions and Disciplinary Committee (AP&DC), Council approved the promotion of Olorunniyi Adebola Emmanuel and Ahmed Onimisi Matthew (both of the Department of Sciences, School of Preliminary Studies), Omolegbe Leah Tinuola (Department of Arts and Social Sciences, School of Preliminary Studies), Zubair Ajoze Abdulraheem ( Computer Science Department) and Audu Ozohu Omolola Muhammed ( Department of Library and Information Science) to the rank of Chief Lecturer”.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *